One of the most difficult aspects of photography to me is flash and other ways of creating and sculpting light.  That may be why I find it so fascinating!  It is like a whole new three dimensional world and yet, it really should be so simple, because you are in control!  Truth be told, I do not feel very much in control when I am standing in a room with flashes, ambient light peeping through the windows, reflectors, gels and flashlights!  Here are some examples of (attempted) controlled lights:

 

Raven.jpg
This was taken in a dark room with a black background with only a flash  used for painting light on the bottle and the ornaments.

 

gelling
My first attempt with gels and a Speedlite!  Another pitch dark room with nothing but a flashlight to illuminate the flower.

Next assignment for me:  Outdoor night shooting with flashlights and gelled flashes!  Stay tuned!